Jonathan Tiu quickest in the first leg of the 2015 NDRC Northern Series

MANILA, Philippines (21 January 2015) – Reigning champion Jonathan Tiu began the 2015 season of the National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) on a high by winning the first leg of the Northern Series, held last January 17 at the Clark International Speedway (CIS).

TIme Attack-4

Sporting minor modifications, Tiu returned this season with the JCT-Blanche Nissan GT-R with hopes of defending his title. Of course, he also has his eyes set on beating his own 8.806 second quarter mile record.

TIme Attack-1

Tiu’s first victory of the day came in the Quick 8s when he managed to outrun TJ Pangilinan in the CabSpeed Honda Civic EG to take 1st place. This left Pangilinan to claim a hard-fought 2nd, while Allan Ararao in the Vannitech W-Autosport Mitsubishi Evolution 3 finished in 3rd.

JCT-Blanche’s so-called “Tiunami 1” GT-R, shod in M&H Racemaster Tires, then went up against Danes Sarmiento in the H3-Rurex for the Super Pro Class. Unfortunately, Sarmiento’s blue Honda Intega veered off course and went up against the barriers after crossing the line, damaging it beyond repair. This handed the victory to Tiu, who covered the quarter mile in 9.161 seconds, despite Sarmiento winning the heat.

Sarmiento was brought to the medical center after the incident, but was otherwise unhurt.

TIme Attack-2

As explained by H3 tuner Ralph De Jesus, the H3-Rurex Honda was supposedly retired after the 2014 season. However, the team decided to race it one last time in memory of the late great Bong Hilario, marking this it’s very last outing.

TIme Attack-3

Meanwhile, the Pro Class was dominated by the Manalo brothers of RSL Motorsports. Martin in the No. 76 Honda EG took home 1st place, while Mark Joseph in the No. 67 machine settled for 2nd. Alfred Germar, on the other hand, was bumped down to 3rd place after breaking out of his set time.

In the Expert Class, Arvin Millet in the No. 3 TEMZ Automart Honda Civic finished in 1st with his cousin Jannery trailing behind in 2nd. Jeffrey Crisostomo then went on to win 3rd in class.

As for the highly-contested Sportsman Class, Joseph Samaniego bested all the other 100 drivers to take 1st place, followed by Sherwin Jay Esguerra in 2nd, and Erickson Santos in 3rd. Finally, 1st place in the Hot Street Class went to Benok Licudine, while Harly Calubiran and Steven Ebba were awarded 2nd and 3rd places, respectively.

TIme Attack-5

All in all, the successful race weekend attracted a record number of 170 drivers who competed in the event’s five official classes. And despite the sheer number of competitors for the day, all were able to complete their runs, which finished at 10:30 in the evening.

See you at the next leg, and the start of the Southern Series, of the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship on January 31 at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC).

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at or log on to

2015 National Drag Racing Championship Northern Series Leg 1 Results


Pos. Name Time (seconds)
Quick 8
1st Jonathan Tiu 9.075
2nd TJ Pangilinan
3rd Allan Ararao
Super Pro Class
1st Jonathan Tiu 9.161
Pro Class
1st Martin Manalo 12.457
2nd Mark Joseph Manalo 12.266
3rd Alfred Germar 11.689 (breakout)
Expert Class
1st Arvin Millet 12.992
2nd Jannery Millet 13.103
3rd Jeffrey Crisostomo 24.445
Sportsman Class
1st Joseph Samaniego 14.993
2nd Sherwin Jay Esguerra 15.137
3rd Erickson Santos 14.689
Hot Street Class
1st Benok Licudine 16.015
2nd Harly Calubiran 15.990
3rd Steven Ebba 16.824


Tech Editor, gear head , photographer, videographer, editor and all around lover of technology.

Leave a Reply