National Drag Racing Championship set to begin 2015 season this weekend


MANILA, Philippines (14 January 2015) – The Batangas Racing Circuit, Inc. (BRCI) has recently published the much-awaited 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) season calendar and it’s all set to begin this January 17.


Sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), this year’s championship once again consists of a Northern Series and Southern Series with four rounds each, which totals to eight races in 2015. The Northern Series is hosted at the Clark International Speedway (CIS), while the Southern Series takes place at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC). Although a champion will be crowed for each series, it’s the competitor who scores the most number of points in both the northern and southern events will earn the title of National Series Champion at the annual Golden Wheel Awards.


The list of competitors, which averages 100 participants per event, then compete in five different classes, grouped according to quarter mile times. This includes HotStreet Class (16.00 secs and slower), Sportsman Class (14.00 – 15.99 secs), Expert Class (12.50 – 13.99 secs), Pro Class (11.00 – 12. 49 secs), and Super Pro Class (10.99 secs and quicker).


The NDRC also adopts a bracket racing system, which puts more importance on driver skill rather than car performance to determine the winner. As a result, the series allows for a wider variety of cars to compete on an equal playing field.


National Drag Racing Championship 2015 Race Calendar

Northern Series (Clark International Speedway)

January 17, 2015

February 14, 2015

March 28, 2015

May 30, 2015


Southern Series (Batangas Racing Circuit Inc)

January 31, 2015

March 7, 2015

April 11, 2015

May 9, 2015


Big names to watch out for in 2015 are still Vanni Garcia of Vannitech W-Autosport, Danes Sarmiento of H3-Rurex, and reigning 2014 champion, Jonathan Tiu of JCT-Blanche. These top drivers regularly reach speeds above 200 km/h and cover the quarter mile in under 10 seconds. But it remains to be seen if anyone can beat Tiu’s quarter mile record of 8.806 seconds in his Nissan GT-R.


Entry fee is P2,000 per driver, plus a P300 day license from AAP and P400 for insurance. Super Pro and Pro Class drivers, however must secure an AAP National Competition License to join. You may check out the full NDRC safety and sporting regulations at


The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.


For more info or inquiries about the National Drag Racing Championship, please contact BRCI at (02) 729-5365 or 0932-860-4522. Get the latest announcements at or log on to






For concerns or inquiries about this press release, please contact:


Christopher Kho

PR Manager, Time Attack Manila

+63 917-540-0177


Tech Editor, gear head , photographer, videographer, editor and all around lover of technology.

Leave a Reply